skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

Lent Term Group and Workshop Timetable 2020

We run three kinds of groups at UCS - workshops, focused groups and longer counselling groups.  The workshops are generally one-off events and do not require any ongoing commitment.  The focused groups are for people who want help with a particular issue.   Longer counselling groups offer support over a period of several weeks. To ensure a group experience, we aim to run groups and workshops of 6 participants or more and if there are insufficient numbers to run a group or workshop it may be cancelled.

All workshops and groups, unless it shows otherwise, are held here at the UCS. We are based on the 3rd floor of the Student Services Centre, Bene't Street, Cambridge.  

IMPORTANT:

Please be aware that you will only be able to attend one group at a time.

Please therefore register only for your first choice this term.

There will be opportunities to attend other groups in another term.

You are welcome to book places on our one or two session workshops alongside your other counselling commitments. Unless otherwise stated all our groups and workshops are open to undergraduates and postgraduates.

Click on the links in the list below to find out more about each group. For general information about groups at the Counselling Service, please click here.

To register your interest in attending a group or workshop, please complete the group or workshop registration form, which can be found by clicking onto the following link: Complete Groups or Workshop Registration Form online.

LENT TERM WORSHOP TIMETABLE 2020

Please note all workshops and groups, unless it shows otherwise, are held here at the UCS. We are based on the 3rd floor of the Student Services Centre, Bene't Street, Cambridge.  

Title

                  Date

Time

Returning from Intermission -

for UGs Self-compassion 

Thursday 16 January

 

5.30 – 7.00 p.m.

Returning from Intermission -

for UGs Time Management 

Tuesday 21 January

 

5.30 – 7.00 p.m.

Returning from Intermission –

for UGs Managing Anxiety 

Thursday 23 January

 

5.30 – 7.00 p.m.

Introduction to Self-Compassion 

Introduction to Self-Compassion 

Thursday 30 January

Friday 7 February 

2.00 – 3.30 p.m.

11.00 a.m – 12.30 p.m.

Address your Stress

Address your Stress

Tuesday 4 February

Friday 6 March

3.00 – 4.30 p.m.

1.30 – 3.00 p.m. 

Understanding & Managing Your Anxiety 

Understanding & Managing Your Anxiety 

Wednesday 5 February

 

Thursday 5 March 

3.30 – 5.00 p.m.

 

1.30 – 3.00 p.m.

Where did the Time Go?

for Postgraduates @ the UCS 

Tuesday 11 February

5.30 – 7.00 p.m. 

 

Understanding & Managing Procrastination

Wednesday 12 February

 

3.30 – 5.00 p.m. 

Improving the Relationship with your Supervisor

for Postgraduates @ the UCS       

Thursday 13 February

 

5.30 – 7.00 p.m.

 

Imposter Syndrome 

Friday 14 February

1.30 – 3.00 p.m.

Time Management for UGs

Wednesday 19 February 

3.30 – 5.00 p.m. 

Become Your Own Coach

for Postgraduates @ the UCS 

Wednesday 26 February

 

3.00 – 4.30 p.m.

 

Understanding & Managing Panic Attacks

Thursday 27 February 

1.00 – 2.30 p.m.

LENT TERM SHORT COURSES AND GROUP TIMETABLE 2020 

Title

Date

Time

Undergraduate Group

(15 sessions, excluding Easter vacation)

Tuesday 21 January – 

Tuesday 10  March

8 sessions

3.30 – 5.00 p.m.

 

Bereavement Group

 

Tuesday 28 January –

Tuesday 10 March

7 sessions

5.15 – 6.45p.m.

Hold the Hope Support Group

 

Monday 3 February –

Monday 9 March

6 sessions

2.45  – 4.15pm

Healthy Self-Esteem

 

Monday 10 February –

Monday 9 March

5 sessions

1.00 - 2.30 p.m.

Managing Low Mood

 

Tuesday 11 February –

Tuesday 10 March

5 sessions

1.30 – 3.00 p.m.

 

Perfectionism v. Healthy Striving

           

 

Friday 14 February –

Friday 13 March

5 sessions

3.00 – 4.30 p.m.

Self-compassion

 

Monday 17 February –

Monday 9 March

4 sessions

3.00 – 4.30 p.m.

Postgraduate Group

(15 sessions, including Easter vacation)

Tuesday 18 February – 

Tuesday 31 March

7 sessions

Easter Term

14 April – 2 June

8 sessions 

5.30 – 7.00 p.m.

 

 

5.30 – 7.00 p.m.

Learning to be Assertive

Thursday 20 February –

Thursday 12 March

4 sessions

3.30 – 5.00 p.m.