skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

Lent Term Group and Workshop Timetable 2019

We run three kinds of groups at UCS - workshops, focused groups and longer counselling groups.  The workshops are generally one-off events and do not require any ongoing commitment.  The focused groups are for people who want help with a particular issue.   Longer counselling groups offer support over a period of several weeks. To ensure a group experience, we aim to run groups and workshops of 6 participants or more and if there are insufficient numbers to run a group or workshop it may be cancelled.

We do not usually arrange for individual and group counselling to be undertaken at the same time. We also limit students to one group or course at a time.  But you are welcome to book places on our one or two session workshops alongside your other counselling commitments. Unless otherwise stated all our groups and workshops are open to undergraduates and postgraduates.

Click on the links in the list below to find out more about each group. For general information about groups at the Counselling Service, please click here.

If you are interested in attending any of the workshops please contact: counsellingreception@admin.cam.ac.uk or telephone 01223 332865

The Lent Term 8-week mindfulness courses start the week beginning 21st January.  Look out for the email from your Senior Tutor giving you the links to sign up for your chosen course.  More information about this term’s mindfulness courses can be found here: https://www.cambridgestudents.cam.ac.uk/welfare-and-wellbeing/mindfulness-cam/view-our-timetables/lent-term-2019

 

LENT TERM 2019

Workshops

Sessions

Date

Time       

 

 

Returning from Intermission - for Undergraduates

Managing Anxiety

 

 

1

 

 

 

 

 Thursday 17 January

 

 

5.30 - 7.00 pm

 

 

Returning from Intermission - for Undergraduates

Time Management

 

 

 

1

 

 

Tuesday 22 January

 

 

5.30 - 7.00 pm

 

 

Returning from Intermission - for Undergraduates

Self-Compassion

 

 

 

1

 

 

Thursday 24 January

 

 

5.30 - 7.00 pm

 

 

Returning from Intermission - for Undergraduates

Become your own coach

 

 

 

1

 

 

Tuesday 29 January

 

 

5.30 - 7.00 pm

 

 

Understanding & Managing your Anxiety

 

 

1

 

 

 

 Wednesday 6 February

 Thursday 7 March

 

 

 

 

 3.30 - 5.00 pm

 1.30 - 3.00 pm

 

 

Understanding and Managing Stress

 

 

1

 

 

 Thursday 7 February

 Wednesday 6 March

 

 

3.30 - 5.00 pm

1.30 - 3.00 pm 

 

 

 

Introduction to Self-Compassion

 

 

 

1

 

 

 Friday 8 February

 Monday 4 March

 

 

3.00 - 4.30 pm

1.00 - 2.30 pm

 

 

 

Understanding & Managing Procrastination

 

 

 

1

 

 

 Tuesday 12 February

 

 

 3.30 - 5.00 pm

 

 

Become your own coach - for Undergraduates

 

 

 

 

 

 

No longer running

 

 

 

 

 

Time management - for Undergraduates

 

 

 

1

 

 

 Tuesday 26 February

 

 

 3.30 - 5.00 pm

 

 

Understanding and Managing Panic Attacks

 

 

 

1

 

 

 Thursday 28 February

 

 

 1.30 - 3.00 pm

For Postgraduates @ the Graduate Union

Time Management

 

Improving the relationship with your supervisor

 

Become Your Own Coach

 

1

 

 

 

 

Monday 11 February

 

Thursday 21 February

 

 Tuesday 26 February

 

5.30-7.00pm

 

5.30 - 7.00 pm

 

 5.30 - 7.00 pm

Short courses/ Focused Groups

Sessions

Date

 Time

 

 

Managing Low Mood

 

 

5

 

 

Wednesday 20 February -

Wednesday 13 March

 

 

 

 3.30 - 5.00 pm

 

Healthy Self-Esteem

 

 

5

 

Thursday 14 February -

Thursday 14 March

 

 

3.30 - 5.00 pm

 

 

Self-compassion

 

 

 

 

4

 

 

Tuesday 19 February -

Tuesday 12 March

 

 

 1.30 - 3.00 pm

 

Perfectionism v. Healthy Striving

 

 

5

 

Monday 11 February -

Monday 11 March

 

 

3.00 - 4.30 pm

 

 

Learning to be Assertive

 

 

4

 

 

Friday 15 February -

Friday 8 March


 

 

3.00 - 4.30 pm

 

 

 

 

 

Bereavement Group

 

 

 

 

7

 

 

Thursday 31 January -

Thursday 14 March

 

 

 5.30 - 7.00 pm

Counselling Groups

Sessions

Date

Time

 

 

Undergraduate Group

 

 

 

 

15

(excluding Easter

vacation)

 

 

Wednesday 23 January -

Wednesday 13 March

& in Easter Term

Wednesday 24 April -

Wednesday 5 May

 

 

 

3.30-5.00pm

 

 

Postgraduate Group

 

 

 

15

(including

vacation)

 

Friday 22 February -

Friday 12 April

& Friday 26 April -

Friday 7 June

 

 

 

9.15 - 10.45 am